Phinally Phoenix …

Dee started this trip with an half empty, purple and cream polka dot suitcase that fit neatly behind the passenger seat. Trouble is, as her road trip purchases grew so did the suitcase size and she found herself sitting closer and closer to the dashboard. She will probably end the trip riding on the hood of the car.

As entrenched habit would dictate, we started our last Road Trip day in Anthem as much we had started the previous 14. I would be up before dawn to complete my blog, make just enough noise as I headed down to our trusted, Hampton Inn breakfast to make sure Dee rose. Then we would swap our routine and be out by 9. Today was the same just a much shorter ride into Phoenix down I.17, looping onto I.101 and then exiting at Cave Creek Road on to E. Bell Road. It was nearly 10 a.m. when we arrived at La Serena at Toscana. Lovely Brooke was prepared for me in her crisp, non-nonsense, efficient manner of someone who has done this often and still loves it. Pages to initial, pages to sign, items to go over, cautions, some rules, some guidances. “And as this is Arizona you will be having many guests. Anyone over one week, just let us know“. I liked that part.

Before my John Hancock got too busy, the ABF U-Pack man was right behind me with documents to sign to accept delivery of my other life, my Relocube. Already delivered and parked as close to my apartment as could possibly be managed. A consideration I greatly appreciated. Had to call dispatch and thank them. Documents all settled, we drove behind the complex Superintendent in his golf cart to my unit and TIC’s new home, bay 378, and a thorough walk through and acceptance. The Ygnition cable man followed shortly in what was the most pain free cable installation I have ever experienced. No Comcast ugly cable box. No Comcast over complicated remote. No Comcast three second delay channel ups and channel down, just your own remote. Could it really be so easy?

Through ABF U-Pack Movers, I signed up for two heavies for two hours and got two heavies for two hours, supervisor Mike, lots of jokes, good humor and some Arizona advise. Got to get Tickie’s windows tinted. Avoid Rattle Snakes. Always give door knocking strangers water. Arizona law requires it. And, of course, welcome to Phoenix. Despite the schedule changes back-n-forth, Mike was always on the phone keeping in touch and juggling his schedule to suit mine. Always reassuring to have one of the heavies be a Baby Huey character. Young, sweet natured, smarter than he probably realized, mechanically inclined and with a lift ability that only one of these big kids can have. We were all moved in by mid-afternoon. I’m home.

The unexpected advantage of downsizing, “do-over”, carved out new life, is that it makes you feel younger. Suddenly everything is new, everything is interesting, everything is to be explored. Mundane grocery shopping. What shop is where? What prices are these? What new experiences are to be had? I am looking forward to them all.

http://gerre.smugmug.com/Other/Road-Trip-Day-15/16327984_L6Dri#1227293766_2zC8x

 

About Gerre

I am a person in transition. Sold my NJ home and heading for my new place in AZ. My "do over" as my friend Dee calls it. Life is about transitions. This is my latest.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Road Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Phinally Phoenix …

  1. Judy Branin says:

    The reality has just set in. You’re not on a vacation. You’re moving away and never coming back to South Jersey. I am profoundly saddened.

  2. Pat Dodson says:

    Wow, THAT was easy! I don’t know what I will do now. Bummer. Please let us down easy, and post every once in a while. I want to hear your impressions of all your new experiences. It was fun. Actually, it was “The Balloon Ride and Other Colorful Stories”. Please Sir, may we have some more?

  3. Darlene says:

    Recognized the Relocube right away!!!!! Love the view from the porch area. Glad you are there safe and sound. It was great reading your travels – it was so easy and quite interesting. Take care and do keep in touch. You really should think about becoming a writer!!!! You have quite a way with words and descriptions.

  4. Joanne Thomson says:

    YOU R ALREADY MISSED. THANKS FOR SENDING MY GOOD FRIEND HOME SAFELY!

Leave a Reply

