Another Conversation About Music Choice …

Dee is driving fast on RT. 81 to make time after Front Royal, Virginia and a day at the Luray Caverns. Want to make North Carolina before stopping over night.

Me – Unzipping my CD storage container.

Me – “Hey, want to see if there is anything here that you like?”
Dee – “Sure”.
Me – “Okay. Paula Cole “My Fire?”
Dee – “Who?”
Me – “How about Tracy Chapman?”
Dee – “Nah. Don’t like her much”.
Me – “Hayley Westenra?”
Dee – “Who is that?’
Me – “Crowed House again?”
Dee – “Again, is that a place?”
Me – “What about Van Morrison, Avalon Sunset“.
Dee – “Not a big Van Morrison fan”.
Me – “Joan Armatrading?”
Dee – “Don’t know her?”
Me – “I saw her in the 70’s at Hammersmith Stadium. Brilliant. How about Boz Scaggs?”
Dee – “Nah”.
Me – “Cold Play?”
Dee – “They’re okay”.
Me – “Daniel Bedingfield?”
Dee- “Again. Who?”
Me – “Joni MItchell?”
Dee – “Nah”.
Me – “Okay. Let’s try Paul Cole. Me, Paula Cole, “I don’t want to wait“, sung together in harmony. Magic”.
Dee – “I can wait”. Stunned silence.

Later, playing Joan Armatrading.

Dee – “Is she still playing?”
Me- “What do you mean, “Is she still playing?”
Dee – “I mean, is she still playing?”
Me – “What? You can’t hear the music?”
Dee – “No. I mean, is she still around!!!”
Me & Dee – “Boy, this is sure going to be a long Road Trip”.

About Gerre

I am a person in transition. Sold my NJ home and heading for my new place in AZ. My "do over" as my friend Dee calls it. Life is about transitions. This is my latest.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Road Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Conversation About Music Choice …

  1. Pat Dodson says:

    Love the banter about musical tastes. Now you know why little kids keep saying, “Are we there yet?” Yes, I remember it well. Great reading for us back in Jersey. Safe trip.

  2. Melissa says:

    Note to self: Make sure you screen for musical tastes before choosing a cross country driving partner!

Leave a Reply

