“In The Morning of My Life …

I shall look to the sunrise“.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dW407rJUqVA

There is a point in one’s life when you realize that you have more past than future, when you can no longer contemplate “in the future I will do this” and “when I am older I will plan that“. Because life is truly a trajectory with a sail upwards, plateau and inevitable decline. And time is always ticking whilst you make your  plans. The midshipmen at the U.S. Navel Academy in Annapolis are brilliantly in the morning of their lives with all the hopes and dreams and wants and ambitions that entitles youth. And youth is future and youth is everything.

Annapolis was a pleasant surprise bathed in Winter sunshine. All the order and ritual and powerful architecture of the D.C. capital, but in a manageable size. Everyone at a  leisurely pace on quaint red bricked streets leading down to the harbor and the main attraction, the U.S. Navel Academy. Dock side shops poised for the next potential season. “Oh, you should come back in April, in the Spring when everything is in bloom” was spoken more than once. But, youth is in bloom in this pre-season period and I selfishly would rather have this place almost entirely to ourselves with a private preview.

From Annapolis onwards leaving Maryland through the real Capital, D.C., to Virginia and Front Royal and official “you-all” territory as in “take care you-all” from the clerk at Apple Mountain General Store as she fingered home made Cinnamon Doughnuts. The Appalachian Mountains and Shenandoah Valley.

http://gerre.smugmug.com/Other/Road-Trip-Day-2/16046097_i7bmj#1204236841_3fvxQ

About Gerre

I am a person in transition. Sold my NJ home and heading for my new place in AZ. My "do over" as my friend Dee calls it. Life is about transitions. This is my latest.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Road Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

